Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
Masahiro Tanaka
ERA W-L K
2.94 3-3 58
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-3 / 218
Position: SPBorn: 11/1/1988 Birthplace: Itami, Japan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Signed via MLB-Japan


Latest News
May 23 12:43 PM PT1:43 PM MT2:43 PM CT3:43 PM ET15:43 ET19:43 GMT3:43 12:43 PM MST2:43 PM EST1:43 PM CST3:13 PM VEN23:43 UAE2:43 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-5 on Thursday. Tanaka struck out five, ending the game with a 2.94 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
May 19 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST3:43 PM CST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Yankees manager Aaron Boone said Sunday that Tanaka was still dealing with some soreness one day after being hit in the right shin by a ground ball. He added that the team has yet to determine whether the right-hander will make his next scheduled start.
Analysis: Tanaka is next slated to pitch Thursday afternoon in Baltimore, which leaves those in weekly leagues in a bit of a dilemma. Keep in mind the Yankees have been very cautious with injured players throughout this season.
May 18 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST2:52 PM CST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed three hits without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Saturday. Tanaka struck out six, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tanaka had a ball ricochet off his right shin. The Yankees said X-rays of Tanaka's shin were negative. It's uncertain whether this will hamper him moving forward.
May 12 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST2:52 PM CST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 3-3, allowing one run on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 7-1 on Sunday. Tanaka struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 7 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 6.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Tuesday. Tanaka struck out four, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
May 1 3:55 PM PT4:55 PM MT5:55 PM CT6:55 PM ET18:55 ET22:55 GMT6:55 3:55 PM MST5:55 PM EST4:55 PM CST6:25 PM VEN2:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 2-3, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Wednesday. Tanaka struck out six, ending the game with a 3.92 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 9:59 PM PT10:59 PM MT11:59 PM CT12:59 AM ET0:59 ET4:59 GMT12:59 9:59 PM MST11:59 PM EST10:59 PM CST12:29 AM VEN8:59 UAE11:59 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 2-2, allowing six runs - five earned - on six hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Los Angeles Angels 11-5 on Thursday. Tanaka struck out two, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 2-1, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 9-2 on Saturday. Tanaka struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.76 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST2:35 PM CST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 1-1, allowing five runs on seven hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-2 on Sunday. Tanaka struck out six, ending the game with a 3.22 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 4-3 on Monday. Tanaka struck out three, ending the game with a 1.47 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 6:22 PM PT7:22 PM MT8:22 PM CT9:22 PM ET21:22 ET1:22 GMT9:22 6:22 PM MST8:22 PM EST7:22 PM CST8:52 PM VEN5:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed one run on eight hits in 6.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Detroit Tigers 3-1 on Tuesday. Tanaka struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.46 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST2:22 PM CST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)2:22 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 1-0, allowing two runs - one earned - on six hits in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-2 on Thursday. Tanaka struck out five, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 NYY 13 5 0 - 0 20 20 3 136.1 123 47 42 15 21 0 141 1.06 2.77
2015 NYY 12 7 0 - 0 24 24 1 154.0 126 66 60 25 27 0 139 0.99 3.51
2016 NYY 14 4 0 - 0 31 31 0 199.2 179 75 68 22 36 0 165 1.08 3.07
2017 NYY 13 12 0 - 0 30 30 1 178.1 180 100 94 35 41 1 194 1.24 4.74
2018 NYY 12 6 0 - 0 27 27 1 156.0 141 68 65 25 35 0 159 1.13 3.75
2019 NYY 3 3 0 - 0 11 11 0 64.1 57 23 21 8 15 0 58 1.12 2.94
Career 67 37 0 - 0 143 143 6 888.2 806 379 350 130 175 1 856 1.10 3.54

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 NYY 20 9 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .111 .111 .111
2015 NYY 24 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .125 .000
2016 NYY 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 NYY 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 NYY 27 6 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 NYY 11 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 143 27 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 12 0 0 .037 .071 .037

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 2 2 2 3 0 3 3.60
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 2 2 2 3 0 3 3.60
2017 NYY Total 2 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 20.0 10 2 2 0 3 0 18 0.90
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 3 0 0 0 1 0 7 0.00
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 7 2 2 0 2 0 11 1.38
2018 NYY Total 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 3 1 1 1 1 0 4 1.80
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 3 1 1 1 1 0 4 1.80
Career 3 2 0 - 0 5 5 0 30.0 17 5 5 3 7 0 25 1.50


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 276 95 87 91.4 29.46
Curveball 34 80 73 77.2 3.63
Slider 357 87 79 83.3 38.1
Changeup 23 86 82 84.4 2.45
Split-Finger 228 91 84 87.4 24.33
Cut Fastball 19 89 85 87.5 2.03

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.